You typically do not need to login each time you open the software, but you may be periodically asked to login after a software update.
If you choose the Account menu > Logout option, then you will need to login the next time you start the WRT software.
When logging out, all stock bin files are removed, and when you start the software again, and login, you will need to re-download them to the software.
To download Bin Files and Keys after logging out, and back in, you need to click:
Account menu > Download Bin File Definitions, and
Account menu > Download Keys.
These Support Center articles may also be of interest to you: